Leader Blues

Wednesday, April 12, 2006

NEIGHBORS >> Kiwanis to honor students

Leader staff writer

IN SHORT: The Kiwanis Club of Cabot will recognize nearly 200 juniors and seniors of Cabot High School with its 10th annual honor banquet on April 20 at the Cabot Junior High School North cafeteria.

The Kiwanis Club of Cabot will recognize nearly two hundred juniors and seniors of Cabot High School with its 10th annual honor banquet at 7 p.m. Thursday, April 20 at the Cabot Junior High School North cafeteria. Academic achievement certificates will be given to students who have maintained a cumulative grade point average above 3.5.

“These young men and women are our future leaders,” said Chris Roberts, president of the Kiwanis Club of Cabot.
“It is important to the Kiwanis Club to commend them on their outstanding academic achievements while giving them our support as they move into the next steps of their lives. Kiwanis and Cabot are proud of these young people.”

The Kiwanis Club hosts the banquet each year to recognize the top students and to encourage academic excellence in the Cabot school system.

The students get a free meal catered by Crossroads Café and Catering of Cabot. Parents and guests wishing to attend must purchase a ticket for the meal at the Cabot High School Principal’s Complex by Tuesday, April 18.

“These students have worked hard to reach their goals and as a Kiwanian it is a pleasure to recognize the accomplishments of not only the students but their parents who have provided their support,” said Teresa Wojciechowski-Allen of the Kiwanis Club of Cabot.

For the past 10 years, the Kiwanis Club of Cabot has endeavored to encourage students to achieve academic excellence and be involved in community service through youth organizations such as K-Kids at Eastside Elementary, Central Elementary, Ward Central Elementary, Magness Creek Elementary and Northside Elementary; Builders Clubs in Cabot Middle School North, Cabot Middle School South, and Cabot Junior High School North as well the Key Club at Cabot High School.

“We award two $1,000 scholarships to graduating students of Cabot High School to encourage post-secondary education,” said Jim Thompson of the Kiwanis Club of Cabot.

“We have seen a growth in the number of students maintaining a higher grade-point average since we started this recognition program ten years ago. That was our hope and we are delighted that it is being realized.”

Seniors to be honored include: Jason S. Aist, Brittany M. Allison, Nicholas Paul Amis, Braylin May Artigues, Lauren Elizabeth Bailey, Lacey N. Ball, Tyler A. Bartels, Christina N. Bearden, Jessica N. Beaulieu, Nicholas T. Billingsley, Melissa A. Bishop, Daniel James Bizzell, Brian Allen Bopp, Jonathan D. Boyd, Jennifer Kristen Bradley, Samantha Lynn Burnett, Billie Ann Branscum, Camron Mitchell Browning, Cara Deann Coker, Jessica B. Cowart, Melissa F. Curtis, Christina M. Declerk, Emily Noelle Dixon, Tiffany L. Duhamel, Amanda Kay Ehlers, Tisha Lanelle Flud, Matthew Michael Ford, Heather Brook Forester, Kevin G. Frey, Daniel S Gates, Bettye Nicole George, Michael Alan Gertsch, Chad R. Glover, Enrico Haarland, Stephanie R. Ham, Christi Leigh Hankins, Lauren Jo Harrington, Jessica Lynn Hazeslip, Loni Danielle Hefner, Jason W. Hill, Jonathan C. Hill, Lauren E. Hopkins, Megan B. Houston, Cody G. Jackson, Kristi Lynn Jensen, Jessica Elaine Jervis, Courtney Danielle Jones, Mary Katherine Jones, Kari Michelle Kiihnl, Katie L. Knox, William Michael Kruse, Joshua A. Lieblong, Danielle Lovellette, Michael Spence Lowry, James R. Madding, Shelli Melissa Mann, Anna J. Manry, Bryan A. Martinez, Brittany D. Mathews, Kevin W. Meeler, Ashley Danielle Meyer, Lynette Marie Mitchell, Mallory D. Morgan, Seth Anthony Murdoch, Anthony M. Nelson, Lindsey Michelle Nichols, Kara Elizabeth Patterson, Ashley Dianne Payne, Kristen L. Phelps, Madeline R. Phillips, Judy Jolene Pitt, Ashlee R. Powell, Colton C. Roberts, Sarah N. Roberts, Candace Brooke Rodman, Christopher E. Rodriguez, Kristin Ann Rogers, Raney Ann Rogers, Michael Andrew Roller, Casandra Ann Russell, Taylor Howell Self, Brady W. Sharp, Michael C. Sherer, Crystal Lynn Short, Melissa M. Simmons, Kimberly Michel Sitzmann, Carly N. Slayden, Mallory J. Styron, Jeanette Lynn Thompson, Seth Charles Thomson, Tyler Worth Troutman, Joseph Bradly Tyree, Samantha Elaine Walker, Shannon Nicole Walker, Sara B. Waller, Jessica D. Walton, Whitney Nicole Watkins, Aaron D. Willis, Cody Rutledge Wilson, Abby Lauren Wisniewski, Coby A. Withers and Brett Wayne Yother.

Juniors to be honored include: Joan M. Abbott, Brandon M. Aist, Patricia L. Ard, Ashley A. Austin, Amy L. Baldwin, Justin Andrew Barnes, Carrie Elizabeth Belt, Katy E. Bittle, Heather Diane Bodiford, Elizabeth M. Buerges, John Russell Burks, Kimberly Ballena Carter, Eric J. Clark, Sarah A. Coggins, Anne Elizabeth Coltrane, Corey Delaney, Krista P. Demiere, Mallory Lynne Eanes, Melissa Ann Edwards, Jeryca A. Einhorn, Melissa A. Euler, Jared R. Evanov, Anthony C. Farler, Jennifer Lea Farnsworth, Alissa Jo Foster, Justin M. Free, Nicole M. Funk, Jessica M. Gann, Holly P. Giblin, Sondra Kristine Grinnis, Cody D. Haas, Ashley A. Harris, Jordan W. Hawkins, Madisan T. Helms, Brianna R. Henderson, Brandon Chase Herekamp, Ryan Noel Hill, Brittany Lauren Hodges, Kevin David Howard, Joshua Michael Huckabee, Chelsea Nicole Hunter, Abigail Elizabeth Jackson, Amanda Nicole Jarman, Austin Gregory Jarrett, Nathan Merritt Johnson, Julianna Michelle Jordan, Kyle James Kobi, Aimee Allison Landry, Ryan W. Laws, Haley B. Little, Victoria Lovellette, Rayna A. Mackey, Mallory S. Magie, Colleen C. Menery, Sarah Renee Miley, Timmy H. Minnie, Derek Samuel Mobbs, Melissa K. Moore, Stevi Neal Moore, Natalie J. Noack, Sara Kristine Oakley, Shannon Lynn Onale, Chelsea Louann Paoletti, Victoria Denise Pearson, Jocelyn C. Pendergist, Maricela Jacqueline Pinedo, Elizabeth Frances Roberg, Michael James Rowlett, Stephanie M. Schneider, Jordan L. Scott, Alex J. Sharp, Codi E. Smith, Tyler K. Spencer, Justin B. Sperry, Mark Joseph Staples, Jeremy Matthew Stark, Jamie Amanda Sterrenberg, Amber N. Stockman, Zachary Wayne Taylor, Dinah Victoria Thomas, Thomas James Thompson, Jessica Lenae Todd, Lauren N. Uhrich, Daniel Shane Walters, Andrew Jeremy Waters, Lindsey Elizabeth Watts, Jamee D. Wawak, Elizabeth Mae Willen, Craig Alan Williams, Sara Elizabeth Wojhoski, Justin Levi Woodall, Sharon F. Wyatt, Monica N. Yarbrough and Brady N. Zweifel.