Leader Blues

Wednesday, October 25, 2006

TOP STORY >>White County voters go to Searcy

Leader staff writer

The Democratic gubernatorial candidate Mike Beebe and his wife Ginger were among more than 280 voters who cast
electronic ballots during early voting Monday at the White County Courthouse at Searcy.
The couple left the campaign trail Tuesday after a death in the family. A Searcy resident, Beebe is facing off
against Republican Asa Hutchinson, former undersecretary for the Department of Homeland Security during the general
election Tuesday, Nov. 7. Early voting continues for White County residents from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday until Monday, Nov. 6, when early voting stops at 5 p.m. and is available from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday Oct. 28 and Saturday, Nov. 4.


There is a three-way battle for county judge between independent candidate Dennis Gillam, Democrat Waylon Heathscott
and Republican Michael Lincoln. Republican Ricky Shourd and independent candidate Edward Thronton are
in a three-way race with incumbent White County Sheriff Pat Garrett, a Democrat. The only other contested county race is
for tax assessor between incumbent Debra Akers Lang-D and her Republican challenger Shane Sellers. Incumbents running
unopposed are Circuit Clerk Tami King, County Clerk Tanya Burleson, County Treasurer Janet Hibbitts and Coroner
David Powell — all Republicans along with Democrat Sue Liles for collector


In contested races for White County Quorum Court are Horace Taylor-D and Jerry Sites-R for District 1; incumbent
Terry Adams-D and challenger Billy Young-R for District 4; incumbent Johney Young-R for District 4; incumbent Johney Gibson-D and challenger Danny Thomas-R for District 6, and incumbent Mike Cleveland-R and Jimmy Dale Smith, an independent for District 9. In uncontested races are Larry Fisher-R, District 2; Cameron Cooper-R, District 3; Jimmy L. House-D, District 5; Kenneth Horton-D, District 7; Layne “Boss” Vaughn-D, District 8; Bobby Quattlebaum-R, District 10; Ed Land-R, District 11; George “Bud” Osborne-D, District 12 and Bill Pierce-R, District 13.


As in most city elections, Beebe’s are nonpartisan.
Mike Robertson is running un-opposed for mayor, replacing Donald Ward. Carol Crump-Westergren and Estela Gomez are competing for city clerk/ treasurer and three are running for the Ward 3, Position 1 alderman spot on the city council. The candidates are John D. Johnson, Hermon Black-mon and Garland Kirkpatrick.

Uncontested races for Beebe include Harold Welch, Ward 1, Position 1; Janice Petray, Ward 1, Positon 2; Becky Short, Ward 2, Position 1; Tracy Lightfoot, Ward 2, Position 1, and Les Cossey, Ward 3, Position2.


In McRae voters will choose between incumbent mayor Robert “Bob” Sullivan or David Newman. The only contested race for McRae city council is between independents Cecil “Mack” Davis and Shirley Cox for the Ward 1, Position 2 seat. Twyla Turner for Ward 1, Position 2; Lela Strange for Ward 2, Position 1 and Bobby Crisco for Ward 2, Position 2 are running unopposed.


In Searcy, there is a three-way race for mayor between incumbent Belinda LaForce-D, former alderman Dale Brewer-R and Phillip R. Williams, an independent candidate. Incumbent City Clerk and Treasurer Tommy Gowen-D, and incumbent City Attorney Buck C. Gibson-D, are running uncontested. There are races for three seats on the Searcy City Council.
JoAnn Ramsey-D, and Mike Chalenburg-R, are vying for the Ward 4, Position 2, alderman seat.

Ward 3, Position 1, incumbent Dale English-D, is facing off against challenger Cindy Erwin-Barker-R, and incumbent Jackie Liles-R, is running against Dale Ellis-D. Uncontested alderman races include Carl Nutter-R, Ward 1, Position 1; Mary Ann Arnett-R, Ward 1, Position 2; Jim Dixon-R, Ward 2, Position, Kyle Reeves-R, Ward 2, Position 2, and Mark Derrick-R, Ward 4, Position 1.