Leader Blues

Saturday, November 25, 2006

TOP STORY >>Runoff voting is Tuesday in area

IN SHORT: Monday marks the last day to vote early before residents of Lonoke and White counties decide runoff winners.

Leader staff writer

Although early voting for runoff election races has been underway for the past two weeks, and continues Monday, the final day to cast a ballot for the three races held in both Lonoke and White counties will be Tuesday.

Runoff races in Lonoke County include the mayor’s race in Austin, the District 4 Lonoke City Council seat, and the constable’s race in Ward township.

In White County, runoff races are being held for White County judge, the Ward 3, Position 1 seat on the Beebe City Council, and Searcy mayor.

The mayor’s race in Austin is between incumbent Bernie Chamberlain, who received 44 percent of the vote (105 votes) during the regular election, and Barry D. Weather II, who received 35 percent of the vote (85 votes). The third candidate was Jeremy C. Reed, who garnered only 51 votes during the regular election.

Running for the District 4 alderman seat in Lonoke is Kenneth Pasley, a Democrat who got 35 percent of the vote, a total of 64 votes, and Wendell Walker, an Independent who got 34 percent of the vote, a mere one vote behind Pasley.

During the Nov. 7 election, the third candidate, Republican Robert Bob Combs, received 58 votes.

The constable’s race in Ward township is between Mike Rev-eley, a Republican who received 43 percent of the vote (284 votes) in the Nov. 7 election, and Democrat Michael E. Kindall, who earned 39 percent of the vote (259 votes). James W. Williams Sr. was the third candidate, receiving only 117 votes in the election earlier this month.

In the race for White County judge, Republican Michael Lin-coln faces off against Independent candidate Dennis Gillam.
None of the three candidates in the Nov. 7 election took more than 50 percent of the vote.

Lincoln, the only one new to politics, carried every pre-cinct in Searcy and had 37 percent of the vote.

Gillam came in second with 32 percent, and Waylon Heath-scott, the Democratic candidate, third with 31 percent of the vote.
The Beebe City Council race for the Ward 3, Position 1 seat is between John D. Johnson, who received 501 votes, and Garland Kirkpatrick, who got 481 votes.

The last runoff race is for Searcy mayor with incumbent Belinda LaForce, a Democrat, facing former alderman Dale Brewer, a Republican.

In the Nov. 7 elections, LaForce brought in 42.38 percent of the vote and Brewer had 43.57 percent.

Lonoke early voting has one last day on Mon-day at the county courthouse from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.

Voting on Tuesday in Lonoke County will be from 7:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m. at the following three locations: the Austin Station Baptist Church, 1482 E. Main St. in Austin; the Lonoke Depot, 102 Front St. in Lonoke; and the Ward Chamber of Commerce, 80 W. 2nd St. in Ward.

Early voting also continues Monday in White County. Regular voting for the runoff races will be held at all voting sites throughout White County from 7:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m. Tuesday.