Leader Blues

Tuesday, September 18, 2007

TOP STORY >>School candidates face off Tuesday

Leader staff writer

School board elections are Tuesday and candidates in local districts are urging residents to get out and vote.

Voting will take place from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. at all area polling locations. Look for election results in the Wednesday edition of The Leader.

Polling sites have been consolidated this year for board elections in the Pulaski County Special School District and the Cabot School District.

For the local PCSSD seat, Zone 6 between incumbent Dr. James Bolden III and Bill Vasquez, the two major polling sites are the Jack Evans Senior Citizens Center in Sherwood, and the Jacksonville Community Center.

According to Pulaski County Clerk Pat O’Brien, all voters will go to their regular precinct locations to vote, unless they live in an area with combined polling locations. “PCSSD is an odd shaped district and we want voters to be aware of what zone they are in,” O’Brien said, adding 95 percent of residents will vote at their normal precinct.

First Baptist Church, 401 N. 1st St., is also a polling site for PCSSD’s Zone 6 seat.

Zone 6 is split into two areas along Hwy. 67/167. The boundary area of Zone 6 to the west of Hwy. 67/167 includes Hwy. 107 to the southern boundary of precinct 30 down to Jacksonville/Main to Hwy. 67/167, but excludes Delta, Tara Mount and Lisa, continuing south along Hwy. 67/167 following Precinct 32 and 33 southern boundaries until hitting Oneida and heading northwest.

The Zone 6 area located to the east of Hwy. 67/167 boundaries include Hwy. 67/167 to the Lonoke County line, east to the Lonoke County line and then south running parallel with Governor Wells. The western boundary extends to include the Melrose/Yellowstone area off Redmond Road and does not include the Pinewood, Park, Beverly and some Carolyn, Keaton and Nina areas.

A map of the zones is available online at www.votepulaski.net by following the links for PCSSD.


The two polling sites for the Cabot School Board election are the Family Life Center at First Baptist Church of Cabot, and the Youth Center at Mt. Carmel Baptist Church of Cabot.

Each polling location will have four voting machines.

Residents of York, Cabot Wards one and two, Butlerville Township, Austin and Caroline, Austin Station and Caroline, Austin Station and Magness Township, Ward City and Ward Township will all vote at First Baptist Church.

Residents of Cabot Wards three and four, Oakgrove Township, Eagle, Gray and Goodrum will all vote at Mt. Carmel Baptist Church.

Arthur Evans and incumbent Jim Coy are running for Position 3; Ken Kincaid is running unopposed for Position 7.


Beebe School District residents have numerous polling sites available to vote for either Brenda K. McKown or Christopher Mark Goss for the open school board seat.

Beebe residents, as well as Prairie County residents within Beebe schools, will vote at the Beebe Church of Christ. Other locations include: in Antioch, the Antioch Church Fellowship Hall; in El Paso, the El Paso Community Center; in Floyd, the Floyd Fire Station; in Garner, Garner City Hall; and in McRae, the McRae Multipurpose Building.


Lonoke residents will have the opportunity to vote Tuesday at the Lonoke Depot.

Incumbent Ray Kelleybrew is running unopposed for his Zone 1, Position 3 seat; incumbent Richard Pennington and Darrell Parks are running for the Zone 3, Position 2 seat; and Mike Brown is a write-in candidate for a one-year term.