Leader Blues

Tuesday, March 04, 2008

TOP STORY > >County judge is hot contest

Leader senior staff writer

Although at least one good countywide race is promised for Pulaski County, you couldn’t tell it by the filings as of 4 p.m. Tuesday.

Pulaski County Judge Buddy Villines, a Democrat, has filed for reelection and Republican Phil Wyrick, former state livestock commissioner under Gov. Mike Huckabee, has promised to challenge, but has not yet filed.

The filing period opened at noon Monday and closes at noon next Monday.

Other than Villines, the following incumbents have filed, so far without opposition.

Assessor Janet Troutman Ward, a Democrat from North Little Rock.

Sheriff Doc Holladay, a Little Rock Democrat.

Treasurer Debra Buckner, a North Little Rock Democrat.

Several Pulaski County justices of the peace from Sherwood, north Pulaski and Jacksonville areas have filed for reelection.
They include:
Rev. Robert E. Green Sr., a North Little Rock/McAlmont Democrat.

Bob Johnson, a Jacksonville Republican.

Jeff Rollins, a Sherwood Republican.

Dennis Sobba, a Democrat and former Jacksonville Justice of the Peace and now Hill Township Constable, filed for reelection to his constable’s post.

All four of the state’s congressmen have filed for reelection, so far without opposition, according to records of file with the Secretary of State’s Office. They include Dist. 1 Cong. Marion Berry, D-Gillett; Dist. 2 Cong. Vic Snyder, D-Little Rock; Dist. 3
Cong. John Boozman, R-Rogers; and Dist. 4 Cong. Mike Ross, D-Prescott.

All the Pulaski County state representatives cannot run for the House again because of term limits. Filing for the Dist. 43 seat currently held by Democrat Jeff Wood are Jim Nickles of Sherwood, a Democrat, and Tom Raley, also of Sherwood, a Republican.

Filing for the Dist. 42 seat held by Sandra Prater are Val Yagos, a Jacksonville Democrat, and Mary Jane English, a North Little Rock Republican.

Mark Perry, a Jacksonville Democrat, has filed for the Dist. 44 seat held by Rep. Will Bond.

Early voting for the primary election begins May 5 and the primary election will be held on May 20, with polls open from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.