Leader Blues

Saturday, November 01, 2008

TOP STORY > >Schools in trouble

Several area schools must improve under the federal No Child Left Behind Law, according to a list released Friday by the state Education Department.

The area schools include:

Pulaski County Special School District — Harris Elementary, Jacksonville Elementary, Boys and Girls Middle schools, Jacksonville High, North Pulaski High, Murrel Taylor Elementary, Northwood Middle School and Sylvan Hills High School.

Beebe Elementary, Beebe Junior High, Middle and Intermediate schools.

Cabot Junior High South and Middle School South and North.

Lonoke High, Primary, Elementary and Middle schools.

“The probability is very high that the number of schools placed on the list of schools in need of improvement will increase each year because the bar gets higher each year,” said Dr. Ken James, Arkansas Commissioner of Education.