Leader Blues

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

SPORTS >> State baseball all stars announced

Leader sports editor

The Arkansas Activities Association has released the names of the 2009 high school baseball all stars.

In The Leader coverage area, Sylvan Hills led the way with four selections: D.J. Baxendale, Tyler Van Schoyck, Nathan Eller and Justin Treece. The defending 6A state champions lost in the 5A semifinals earlier this month.

This year’s 6A runner up Searcy placed three players on the All State team, including Mac Ellis, Dillon Howard and Jonathan Luthe.

Jacksonville senior shortstop Terrell Brown and senior pitcher/infielder Seth Tomboli were named to the team as well. Cabot’s Drew Burks was the lone Panther on the squad.

Austin Crabill of Abundant Life and Roger Glaude of Beebe were also selected to the team.

Rounding out the area teams, Harding Academy placed Matt Calhoun and Matt Lincoln on the All Star squad, while Lonoke was represented by B.J. Manning and Drew Southerland.

Named to the All-Tournament teams were Howard and Preston Tarkington of Searcy, Tyler Erickson of Cabot, Tomboli of Jacksonville, Baxendale of Sylvan Hills, Beebe’s Glaude and Abundant Life’s Crabill.