Leader Blues

Tuesday, July 21, 2009

SPORTS >> Sharks shine again

Leader sports editor

Led by Delaney Haralson’s and Thomas Heye’s six first-place finishes, the Sherwood Sharks edged Maumelle 458.5 to 312 to capture the Meet of Champs on Saturday at UALR.

The Cabot Piranhas got three firsts from Megan Owens and two each from John Santiago and Emily Grigsby to finish fifth, while the Lonoke SharkRockets came in seventh.

Haralson won the titles in the 9-10-year-old freestyle, backstroke, individual medley, breaststroke and butterfly and also anchored the winning relay team.

Heye earned victories in the 9-10-year-old freestyle, backstroke, breaststroke, individual medley and butterfly. Heye was the anchor on the winning relay team as well.

Joseph Potts also helped the Sharks’ cause with wins in the 7-8-year-old butterfly and freestyle and the 8-under individual medley.

Connor McNulty picked up three individual wins — in the 11-12-year-old individual medley, breaststroke and free style — and a victory on the relay team.

Owens led Cabot with wins in the 15-18-year-old freestyle and breaststroke and as the anchor on the relay team.

Other multiple winners for Cabot include Frances McFadden (13-14 IM and butterfly), John Santiago (13-14 IM and breaststroke) and Grigsby (15-18 butterfly and relay).
Sherwood multiple winners also include Tori Newton (11-12 IM, breastroke and relay), Cordell Taylor (11-12 backstroke and butterfly), Lauren Underwood (15-18 IM and butterfly) and Sam Scott (13-14 butterfly and freestyle).