Leader Blues

Tuesday, March 02, 2010

TOP STORY >> Filings make it official

The Capitol Rotunda in Little Rock was full of eager candidates on Monday as they filed for this year’s elections.

Political candidates started filing for state and local offices on Monday and Tuesday at the state Capitol and county courthouses.

The filing period for the May 18 primaries ends Monday.

Cabot Mayor Eddie Joe Williams, a Republican, and former state Rep. Lenville Evans of Lonoke, a Democrat, filed Monday for Senate Dist. 28 to succeed Sen. Bobby Glover (D-Carlisle), who is term limited.

The district covers Lonoke, Prairie and Arkansas counties.

“I’m excited about the race,” said Williams, who has decided not to run for a second term as mayor.

Rep. Jonathan Dismang (R-Beebe) and former Rep. Sandra Prater of Jacksonville, a Democrat, filed Monday for Senate Dist. 29 to succeed Sen. John Paul Capps (D-Searcy), who is term limited.

The district includes parts of north Pulaski, White and Faulkner counties.

Jesse Boyce, a Democrat, and Jeremy Gillam, a Republican filed for Dismang’s House seat in Dist. 49.

Rep. Walls McCrary (D-Lonoke) filed for re-election in Dist. 15, as did Rep. Jane English (R-North Little Rock) in Dist. 42 and Jim Nickels (D-Sherwood) in Dist. 43.

Former state Sen. Tim Wooldridge, Chad Causey and Terry G. Green, all Democrats, and Rick Crawford, a Republican, have filed in the First Congressional District to succeed retiring Rep. Marion Berry.

Pulaski County Prosecuting Attorney Larry Jegley filed for re-election for a sixth term. He’s the longest-serving prosecutor in Pulaski County history.

Tim Blair, a Democrat, filed for Lonoke County prosecuting attorney in Lonoke County to succeed interim Prosecuting Attorney Will Feland, who is filling out the unexpired term of Lona McCastlain, who resigned.

Justice of the Peace Bob Johnson of Jacksonville filed for re-election to the Pulaski County Quorum Court in Dist. 11.